When the daylight’s like florescent light

Resolutions seem like minefields waiting to be set-off, and if the past year taught me anything it is that I do not need to self-sabotage, no, instead I think I need to embrace the things, and the people, who help me move forward, who do not hinder my self-discovery, and that allow me the space to grow and fail and succeed. So, this year I am not making lists, even if that is so very unlike me. This year I am just going to try to be.

I took photographs tonight as my daughter and I walked to get tea and hot chocolate. On our way it was on the cusp of sunset, the weather cool but not cold, the sky fading into the color scheme of almost night, all that breathless beauty that air pollution can sometimes bring. I tried to notice the smaller details around me. Pieces of my neighborhood that I typically rush by. I am no photographer, but I quite like some of the shots I captured.

7

3

6

4

9

1

Sometimes its better to just try to engage and find yourself in the experience, than to try to navigate and schedule everything. I’m trying to learn this, which is a struggle internally as control is one of my biggest go-to’s to help with my anxiety issues. But, I want to create more, work on my craft more, and find inspiration in other places beyond memories and falling for other people/other people’s dreams and potential. I’m tired of my own self-censorship and contrived navigation, and am looking to just let go and experience life in this new year.

I want to see what I have not taken time to see in a long, long time.

Telethon :: Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton

One thought on “When the daylight’s like florescent light

  1. I’ve got a lot of work to do tonight and I’m not so much putting it off and getting geared up by relaxing and I’m doing it by looking through your posts. I’ve missed quite a bit. I didn’t mean to, I don’t think they always show up on my Reader or maybe they just get lost in the mix which tells me I need to delete some blogs I’m not into anymore to make space. I LOVE that you took pictures!! They are all interesting too, the angles and subjects or candid style. There’s a slice of life in there for sure. I hope you’ll keep it up and if you do maybe you’ll continue to share more photographs. I’ve never heard this song either and it’s exactly what I need to hear right now.

Leave a comment